Background - News & Events (Landing) 2016

Search NewsRoom

Advanced Search >

Media Contacts +

Past Events

China in the Crosshairs: An Overview of the U.S. Approach to Mitigating National Security Concerns

June 23, 2020 • Webinar

Starts: 12:00 PM (EDT)
Ends: 1:30 PM (EDT)

In the past several years, the U.S. government has issued a series of sweeping Executive Orders, policy announcements, and other regulatory and enforcement actions as part of a multi-pronged approach to protect U.S. national interests against the perceived challenges a rising China presents. To help industry contextualize these actions within the broader framework of the U.S. approach to China, and to understand the emerging trends, our C&M International trade professionals and C&M International Trade and Government Contracts attorneys will provide commentary and insight across a series of topics, including:

  • Recent changes to national security reviews by the Committee on Foreign Investment in the U.S. (CFIUS) targeting capital from China;
  • The new EAR foreign-direct product rule aimed at Huawei and its affiliates, and the Military End user / End Use Rule;
  • Entity List additions; 
  • Tariffs and Trade Remedies developments; 
  • Establishing the new Team Telecom; 
  • Securing U.S. Bulk Power Systems;
  • FAR Supply Chain restrictions and implementation plans;
  • The U.S. Department of State’s announcement on the revocation of Hong Kong’s trade status; and
  • Criminal prosecution of sanctions violations and trade secret theft.

Contact: Denise Giardina (dgiardina@crowell.com)

Crowell & Moring Participant(s):
Andrew Blasi
C&M International Director – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2837
Email: ablasi@crowell.com
Caroline E. Brown
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2509
Email: cbrown@crowell.com
Adelicia R. Cliffe
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2816
Email: acliffe@crowell.com
Stephanie L. Crawford
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2811
Email: scrawford@crowell.com
Chandler S. Leonard
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2905
Email: cleonard@crowell.com
David R. Stepp
Partner – Los Angeles, Shanghai
Phone: +1 213.443.5531
Email: dstepp@crowell.com
Gail D. Zirkelbach
Partner – Los Angeles
Phone: +1 213.443.5549
Email: gzirkelbach@crowell.com
For more information, please visit these areas: