Firm News & Announcements

Crowell & Moring Consumer Product Safety Seminar to Feature Senator Mark Pryor and Other Key Government Officials

Washington, D.C. – October 5, 2011: Crowell & Moring LLP is pleased to invite members of the media and industry to attend its one-day seminar, “Product Risk Management: A Product Lifecycle Approach to Identifying, Mitigating and Managing Legal Risks,” on October 19, 2011, from 8:45 a.m. – 4:45 p.m. at the firm’s offices in Washington, D.C. As regulatory compliance and enforcement risks for industry have increased, this one-day event for manufacturers and suppliers will feature insights from business executives, in-house counsel, and Washington agency officials.

The morning’s keynote address will be delivered by U.S. Senator Mark Pryor of Arkansas, who sponsored key amendments to the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA) that addressed longstanding complaints about some aspects of the law.

Speakers will include in-house counsel and executives from companies such as American Cleaning Institute, Avaya, Dana Holding Corporation, Dell Inc., FMC Corporation, Graco Children's Products, Inc., Limited Brands, Oneida, and Tesla Motors, as well as Crowell & Moring's wide range of regulatory, litigation, and international trade lawyers.

Government speakers will include:

  • Maria J. Doa, Director, Chemical Control Division, Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Stacey Ferguson, Senior Attorney, Division of Advertising Practices, Federal Trade Commission
  • Mark Josephs, Assistant Director, Consumer Protection Branch, U.S. Department of Justice
  • Melanie Sabo, Assistant Director, Anticompetitive Practices Division, Federal Trade Commission
  • O. Kevin Vincent, Chief Counsel, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Official from Office of Compliance and Field Operations, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Crowell & Moring partner Bridget E. Calhoun, who leads the firm’s Product Risk Management practice, said, “Manufacturers have faced increased regulatory enforcement and penalties, as well as more restrictive legislation. This conference is timely because it will stimulate discussion on agency priorities and industry best practices, as well as help businesses develop strategies to navigate and thrive in the current regulatory and litigation environment.”

A series of panels throughout the day will address product marketing; social media and advertising; distribution and regulatory compliance; automotive product safety and compliance; global product safety and compliance; antitrust issues; and investigations, enforcement, and litigation risk mitigation.

To view the full agenda and register for the event, please visit: www.crowell.com/PRM-2011Conference.  

Crowell & Moring LLP is an international law firm with nearly 500 lawyers representing clients in litigation and arbitration, regulatory, and transactional matters. The firm is internationally recognized for its representation of Fortune 500 companies in high-stakes litigation, as well as its ongoing commitment to pro bono service and diversity. The firm has offices in Washington, DC, New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Orange County, Anchorage, London, and Brussels.

Contact(s):

Sean-Paul Brankin
Partner
+32.2.282.1830
Email: sbrankin@crowell.com

Daniel T. Campbell
Partner
+1 202.624.2544
Email: dcampbell@crowell.com

Philip T. Inglima
Partner
+1 202.624.2795
Email: pinglima@crowell.com

Andrew Kaplan
Partner
+1 202.624.2699
Email: akaplan@crowell.com

Warren Lehrenbaum
Partner
+1 202.624.2755
Email: wlehrenbaum@crowell.com

Kevin C. Mayer
Partner
+1 213.443.5544
Email: kmayer@crowell.com

Tracy A. Roman
Partner
+1 202.624.2651
Email: troman@crowell.com

Alexander H. Schaefer
Partner
+1 202.624.2773
Email: aschaefer@crowell.com

Ryan C. Tisch
Partner
+1 202.624.2674
Email: rtisch@crowell.com

Scott L. Winkelman
Partner
+1 202.624.2972
Email: swinkelman@crowell.com

Rebecca Baden Chaney
Counsel
+1 202.624.2772
Email: rchaney@crowell.com

Lauren B. Patterson
Counsel
+1 202.624.2969
Email: lpatterson@crowell.com

Robert A. Lipstein
Retired Partner


Email Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Google+