Firm News & Announcements

Chambers USA Ranks 28 Crowell & Moring Attorneys and 13 Practice Areas

Washington, D.C. – June 21, 2007: Crowell & Moring LLP is pleased to announce that 28 of its leading U.S.-based attorneys have been named to the 2007 Chambers USA: America's Leading Lawyers for Business guide. The prestigious rankings are driven by independent interviews of clients and members of the legal community at outside law firms.

Five of Crowell & Moring's practice areas were ranked among the best in the nation and eight were ranked among the best in the District of Columbia. The firm’s Government Contracts and Aviation groups were ranked “one,” the highest ranking a practice group can achieve.

In the nationwide category for best practices and attorneys, Chambers USA listed the following rankings:

Energy: Electricity (Rank 4)

Government Contracts (Rank 1)

  • Partner Terry Albertson (Rank 1)
  • Partner Thomas P. Humphrey (Rank 4)
  • Partner W. Stanfield Johnson (Rank 1)
  • Partner Kent R. Morrison (Rank 3)

International Arbitration (Rank 4)

  • Partner Arif H Ali (Rank 3)
  • Partner Alexandre de Gramont (Rank 4)

International Trade (Rank 4)

  • Partner Jeffrey L. Snyder (Rank 1)

Tax Litigation

  • Partner Harold J. Heltzer (Rank 3)

Transportation: Aviation: Regulatory (Rank 1)

  • Partner Lorraine B. Halloway (Rank 3)
  • Partner R. Bruce Keiner, Jr (Rank 1)

In the District of Columbia category for best practices and attorneys, Chambers USA listed the following rankings:

Antitrust (Rank 4)

  • Partner Wm. Randolph Smith (Rank 3)
  • Partner Jeane A. Thomas (Rank 5)

Bankruptcy/Restructuring (Rank 3)

  • Partner Mark Plevin (Rank 2)
  • Associate Leslie A Epley (Rank (W) – One to Watch)

Corporate/M&A & Private Equity (Rank 4)

  • Partner James R Stuart III (Rank 4)

Energy: Electricity (Rank 4)

  • Partner Dana Contratto (Rank 4)

Energy: Oil & Gas (Rank 5)

  • Partner Jennifer N. Waters (Rank 4)

Environment (Rank 3)

  • Partner Ridgway M. Hall Jr. (Rank 3)

Healthcare (Rank 3)

  • Partner John T. Brennan Jr. (Rank 1)
  • Partner Arthur N. Lerner (Rank 2)

Insurance: Insurer Firms (Rank 2)

  • Partner Clifton S. Elgarten (Rank 4)
  • Partner Clifford B. Hendler (Rank 3)
  • Partner Paul W. Kalish (Rank 2)
  • Partner Jonathan H. Pittman (Rank (U) - Up and Coming)
  • Partner Mark Plevin (Rank 2)

Intellectual Property

  • Partner Jeffery D. Sanok (Rank 4)

Litigation: White Collar Crime & Government Investigations

  • Partner Richard L. Beizer (Rank 3)
  • Partner Philip T. Inglima (Rank (U) - Up and Coming)

In the New York category for best practices and attorneys, Chambers USA listed the following ranking:

Litigation: General Commercial

  • Partner William J. McSherry Jr. (Rank 3)


Chambers' staff of full-time researchers conduct in-depth interviews with attorneys and clients and make selections based on satisfaction, professional ability and reputation. The USA Guide was first introduced in 2003. Based in London, Chambers and Partners began as general book publishers in 1969. Chambers USA can be accessed online at http://www.chambersandpartners.com/us/.

Crowell & Moring LLP is a full-service law firm with more than 350 lawyers practicing in litigation, antitrust, government contracts, corporate, intellectual property and more than 40 other practice areas. More than two-thirds of the firm's lawyers regularly litigate disputes on behalf of domestic and international corporations, start-up businesses, and individuals. Crowell & Moring's extensive client work ranges from advising on one of the world's largest telecommunications mergers to representing governments and corporations on international arbitration matters. Based in Washington, D.C., the firm also has offices in California, New York, London, and Brussels.

Download Printable PDF
Printable PDF

Contact(s):

Richard L. Beizer
Partner
+1 202.624.2590
Email: rbeizer@crowell.com

John T. Brennan Jr.
Partner
+1 202.624.2760
Email: jbrennan@crowell.com

Leslie A. Davis
Partner
+1 202.624.2727
Email: ldavis@crowell.com

Clifton S. Elgarten
Partner
+1 202.624.2523
Email: celgarten@crowell.com

Harold J. Heltzer
Partner
+1 202.624.2565
Email: hheltzer@crowell.com

Clifford B. Hendler
Partner
+1 202.624.2928
Email: chendler@crowell.com

Thomas P. Humphrey
Partner
+1 202.624.2633
Email: thumphrey@crowell.com

Philip T. Inglima
Partner
+1 202.624.2795
Email: pinglima@crowell.com

Paul W. Kalish
Partner
+1 202.624.2644
Email: pkalish@crowell.com

Mark D. Plevin
Partner
+1 415.365.7446
Email: mplevin@crowell.com

Jeffrey D. Sanok
Partner
+1 202.624.2995
Email: jsanok@crowell.com

Wm. Randolph Smith
Partner
+1 202.624.2700
Email: wrsmith@crowell.com

Jeffrey L. Snyder
Partner
+1 202.624.2790
Email: jsnyder@crowell.com

James R. Stuart III
Partner
+1 202.624.2865
Email: jstuart@crowell.com

Jeane A. Thomas
Partner
+1 202.624.2877
Email: jthomas@crowell.com

Jennifer N. Waters
Partner
+1 202.624.2715
Email: jwaters@crowell.com

Terry L. Albertson
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2635
Email: talbertson@crowell.com

W. Stanfield Johnson
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2520
Email: wjohnson@crowell.com

Kent R. Morrison
Senior Counsel
+1 202.624.2610
Email: kmorrison@crowell.com


Email Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Google+