All Alerts & Newsletters

DoD Issues Long-Awaited Interim Rule on Cyber Requirements and Cloud Services

Sep.03.2015

As discussed in our recent blog post, on August 26, DoD published an Interim Rule that would expand the already onerous requirements of the DFARS Safeguarding Clause by broadening its application to "covered defense information" and by requiring subcontractors to report cyber incidents directly to DoD. As discussed in a separate blog post, the Interim Rule also seeks to ensure uniformity in the DoD's IT acquisition and use of cloud computing services by adding T&C's, including that, unless otherwise authorized, cloud service providers must maintain all government data within the U.S., outlying areas, or DoD premises.


Email Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Google+

For more information, please contact the professional(s) listed below, or your regular Crowell & Moring contact.

David Z. Bodenheimer
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2713
Email: dbodenheimer@crowell.com
Evan D. Wolff
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2615
Email: ewolff@crowell.com
Peter Eyre
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2807
Email: peyre@crowell.com
Maida Oringher Lerner
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2596
Email: mlerner@crowell.com
Kate M. Growley
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2698
Email: kgrowley@crowell.com
Olivia Lynch
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2654
Email: olynch@crowell.com