Background - News & Events (Landing) 2016

Search NewsRoom

Advanced Search >

Media Contacts +

All Alerts & Newsletters

Follow Up: White House Issues Order under Defense Production Act as Part of COVID Response

Mar.23.2020

In our March 19 alert, C&M summarized President Trump’s recent executive order invoking the Defense Production Act (DPA). In this follow-up, we provide three separate analyses. First, we provide a discussion of the Defense Production Act, and the implications of the executive order for U.S. businesses and the government in its efforts to reduce the impact of COVID-19. Second, we discuss the current Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) regulations implementing its priorities and allocations authority prior to the executive order. And third, we discuss the manner in which the government most frequently has exercised similar authorities under the DPA pursuant to the Defense Prioritization and Allocation System (DPAS).

For more information, please contact the professional(s) listed below, or your regular Crowell & Moring contact.

Jonathan M. Baker
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2641
Email: jbaker@crowell.com
Troy A. Barsky
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2890
Email: tbarsky@crowell.com
Stephanie L. Crawford
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2811
Email: scrawford@crowell.com
Alan W. H. Gourley
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2561
Email: agourley@crowell.com
J. Chris Haile
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2898
Email: chaile@crowell.com
John E. McCarthy Jr.
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2579
Email: jmccarthy@crowell.com
Eric M. Ransom
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2679
Email: eransom@crowell.com