All Alerts & Newsletters

EU Member States Approve EU-U.S. Privacy Shield

Jul.08.2016

Today, the European Union (EU) Member States in their function as the Article 31 Committee approved the final version of the EU-U.S. Privacy Shield, the new framework for transatlantic data transfers. It is set to replace the U.S.-EU Safe Harbor which the European Court of Justice invalidated in October 2015. Today’s vote by the Article 31 Committee, which was an important prerequisite for the formal adoption, paves the way for the European Commission’s adequacy decision, which is expected to take place early next week. The European Commission stated that, “Both consumers and companies can have full confidence in the new arrangement, which reflects the requirements of the European Court of Justice. Today’s vote by the Member States is a strong sign of confidence.” The European Commission also noted that during the adoption process it consulted as broadly as possible, “taking on board the input of key stakeholders, notably the independent [Member State] data protection authorities and the European Parliament.” The Commission likely hopes its final consultations and changes will satisfy potential opponents to the new program.

Email Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Google+

For more information, please contact the professional(s) listed below, or your regular Crowell & Moring contact.

Jeffrey L. Poston
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2775
Email: jposton@crowell.com

Emmanuel Plasschaert
Partner – Brussels
Phone: +32.2.282.4084
Email: eplasschaert@crowell.com

Jeane A. Thomas
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2877
Email: jthomas@crowell.com

Evan D. Wolff
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2615
Email: ewolff@crowell.com

Robin B. Campbell
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.654.6732
Email: rcampbell@crowell.com

Frederik Van Remoortel
Senior Counsel – Brussels
Phone: +32.2.282.1844
Email: fvanremoortel@crowell.com

Lisa Weinert
Associate – Brussels
Phone: +32.2.214.2846
Email: lweinert@crowell.com