Background - News & Events (Landing) 2016

Search NewsRoom

Advanced Search >

All Alerts & Newsletters

DoD Previews Final Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification with Revision 0.7

December 17, 2019

The Department of Defense (DoD) recently released another revision to its Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) that, starting next year, independent auditors will use to certify contractor compliance with DoD cybersecurity requirements. Most notably, Revision 0.7 previews the requirements for cybersecurity maturity Levels 4 and 5. Moving beyond the cyber hygiene requirements of Levels 1 through 3, Levels 4 and 5 require even more robust cybersecurity programs capable of addressing the dynamic threats posed by advanced persistent threats (APTs). These two highest levels of certification also implement the enhanced security requirements documented in NIST SP 800-171B, which remains in draft form.

The DoD is expected to announce the final CMMC in January of next year and begin introducing “go/no-go” certification requirements in solicitations as early as June 2020.

For more information, please contact the professional(s) listed below, or your regular Crowell & Moring contact.

Evan D. Wolff
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2615
Maida Oringher Lerner
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2596
Michael G. Gruden, CIPP/G
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2545