Subscribe

Ukraine Crisis Resource Center

DLA Issues Request for Information on Weapons Systems or Commercial Capabilities for Ukraine Security Assistance

April 29, 2022

As Russia’s assault on Ukraine continues, countries around the world are taking action.  Relevant to U.S. Government contractors, on April 22, the Defense Logistics Agency (“DLA”) issued a Request for Information (“RFI”) seeking information on companies’ abilities to deliver military and commercial assistance to Ukraine.  The RFI states that “the Biden Administration is working around the clock to fulfill Ukraine’s priority security assistance requests,” and explains that “Russia’s unprovoked invasion has highlighted the importance of dialogue between industry and commercial partners and the Department of Defense.”  To that end, the RFI seeks to fulfill three strategic objectives:

  • Delivering critical commercial and military capabilities to Ukraine;
  • Enhancing the preparedness of our own forces; and
  • Supporting our allies and partners in bolstering their defense capabilities.

Of particular interest to DOD are options that would accelerate production and build more capacity across the industrial base for weapons and equipment that can be rapidly exported, deployed with minimal training, and that are proven effective in the battlefield.  Specifically, the RFI seeks information from industry on weapons systems or other commercial capabilities related to air defense, anti-armor, anti-personnel, coastal defense, counter battery, unmanned aerial systems, and communications (e.g., secure radios, satellite internet).  Among other things, the RFI asks respondents to “describe the weapon, product, or system you believe could assist the Ukrainian military” and state what delivery timeframe they could meet. 

Responses are due by Noon Eastern on May 6, 2022, and should be submitted in accordance with the instructions outlined in the RFI. 

As the war in Ukraine continues, Government contractors should be alert for this and similar opportunities to bolster the United States’ defenses and assist Ukraine.  The FY2022 omnibus appropriations bill – signed into law in March 15 – includes a $13.6 billion Ukraine aid package, $6.5 billion of which was earmarked for military support for Eastern European countries, including $3.5 billion in additional weapons for Ukraine.  In addition, on April 21, President Biden announced that the U.S. will provide another $800 million in assistance to Ukraine, which will include heavy artillery, ammunition, and tactical drones. 

For more information, please contact the professional(s) listed below, or your regular Crowell & Moring contact.

Robert J. Sneckenberg
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2874
Email: rsneckenberg@crowell.com
Cherie J. Owen
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2629
Email: cowen@crowell.com

Ukraine Crisis Contacts

Antitrust

Shawn R. Johnson
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2624
Email: srjohnson@crowell.com

Learn more about our Antitrust & Competition practice.

Aviation

Eileen M. Gleimer
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2840
Email: egleimer@crowell.com

Learn more about our Aviation practice.

Corporate

Bryan Brewer
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2605
Email: bbrewer@crowell.com
Jennifer K. Grady
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1893
Email: jgrady@crowell.com
Frederick (Rick) Hyman
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.803.4028
Email: fhyman@crowell.com
Richard J. Lee
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1937
Email: rlee@crowell.com
Scott Lessne
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2597
Email: slessne@crowell.com
Timothy E. Lin
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1921
Email: tlin@crowell.com
Kevin Rubinstein
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1818
Email: krubinstein@crowell.com
Cathryn Williams
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7413.1345, +44.07775.900050
Email: cewilliams@crowell.com

Learn more about our Corporate & Transactional practice.

Cybersecurity

Evan D. Wolff
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2615
Email: ewolff@crowell.com
Alexander Urbelis
Senior Counsel – New York
Phone: +1.212.895.4254
Email: aurbelis@crowell.com

Learn more about our Privacy & Cybersecurity practice.

Financial Services

Carlton Greene
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2818
Email: cgreene@crowell.com
Andrew J. Knight
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7413.1366
Email: aknight@crowell.com
Richard J. Lee
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1937
Email: rlee@crowell.com
Michael D. Mann
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.261.2990
Email: mmann@crowell.com
Andrew M. Martin
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7382.4890
Email: amartin@crowell.com
William Q. Orbe
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1850
Email: worbe@crowell.com
Gregory Gennady Plotko
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.530.1924
Email: gplotko@crowell.com

Learn more about our Financial Services practice.

Government Affairs

James G. Flood
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2716
Email: jflood@crowell.com
Kate Beale
Senior Policy Director – Washington, D.C.(CMI)
Phone: +1.202.508.8997
Email: KBeale@crowell.com

Learn more about our Government Affairs practice.

Government Contracts

Robert J. Sneckenberg
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2874
Email: rsneckenberg@crowell.com
Peter Eyre
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2807
Email: peyre@crowell.com
Laura J. Mitchell Baker
Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2581
Email: lbaker@crowell.com
Christopher D. Garcia
Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.688.3450
Email: cgarcia@crowell.com
Rina M. Gashaw
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2827
Email: rgashaw@crowell.com
Allison Skager
Associate – Los Angeles
Phone: +1.213.310.7957
Email: askager@crowell.com

Learn more about our Government Contracts practice.

Global Mobility

Nicole Janigian Simonian
Partner – Los Angeles, Shanghai
Phone: +1.213.310.7998
Email: nsimonian@crowell.com

Learn more about our Global Mobility practice.

Insurance

Laura Foggan
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2774
Email: lfoggan@crowell.com

Learn more about our Insurance / Reinsurance practice.

International Trade/Sanctions/Export Control

John B. Brew
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2720
Email: jbrew@crowell.com
Caroline E. Brown
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2509
Email: cbrown@crowell.com
Carlton Greene
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2818
Email: cgreene@crowell.com
Robert Holleyman
Partner and C&M International President & CEO – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2505
Email: rholleyman@crowell.com
Michelle J. Linderman
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7413.1353
Email: mlinderman@crowell.com
Jeffrey L. Snyder
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2790
Email: jsnyder@crowell.com
David (Dj) Wolff
Partner; Attorney at Law – Washington, D.C., London
Phone: +1.202.624.2548, +44.20.7413.1368
Email: djwolff@crowell.com
Robert Clifton Burns
Senior Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.688.3448
Email: cburns@crowell.com

Learn more about our International Trade practice.

International Dispute Resolution

Meagan T. Bachman
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2722
Email: mbachman@crowell.com
Ian A. Laird
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2879
Email: ilaird@crowell.com
John L. Murino
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2663
Email: jmurino@crowell.com
Laurence Winston
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7413.1333
Email: lwinston@crowell.com

Learn more about our International Dispute Resolution practice.

Labor & Employment

Sadina Montani
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.508.8875
Email: smontani@crowell.com

Learn more about our Labor & Employment practice.

Technology & Brand Protection

Andrew J. Avsec
Partner – Chicago
Phone: +1.312.840.3260
Email: aavsec@crowell.com
Virginia Wolk Marino
Partner – Chicago
Phone: +1.312.840.3228
Email: vmarino@crowell.com

Learn more about our Technology & Brand Protection practice.

Tax

S. Starling Marshall
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.895.4263
Email: smarshall@crowell.com
Irina Pisareva
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.803.4067
Email: ipisareva@crowell.com

Learn more about our Tax practice.

Force Majeure

Bryan Brewer
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2605
Email: bbrewer@crowell.com
Allyson McKinstry
Partner – New York
Phone: +1.212.803.4061
Email: amckinstry@crowell.com
Scott L. Winkelman
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2972
Email: swinkelman@crowell.com
Laurence Winston
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7413.1333
Email: lwinston@crowell.com

White Collar

Michael K. Atkinson
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1.202.624.2540
Email: matkinson@crowell.com
Michael J. Gunnison
Senior Counsel – Doha
Email: mgunnison@crowell.com

Learn more about our White Collar & Regulatory Enforcement practice.