Background - Practices (Details)

Government Contracts Webinars

CONTACTS +
View Webinar

You’re Going to Be Busy: Section 889 Chinese Telecom Prohibition Update on Interim Rule

July 17, 2020 • Webinar

Starts: 12:00 PM (EDT)
Ends: 1:00 PM (EDT)

On Tuesday, July 14, 2020, the FAR Council issued an interim rule implementing Section 889(a)(1)(B) of the FY2019 NDAA, which prohibits agencies from contracting with an entity that uses covered telecommunications equipment and services by certain Chinese entities such as Huawei. Subject to legislative action delaying the August 13, 2020 effective date, government contractors will soon be required to either make a representation that they do not use such equipment or services or seek a waiver.

Join us for a webinar on which we will:

  • Discuss key elements of the interim rule, including an overview of the requirement, its applicability, and the process for seeking waivers;
  • Discuss the stated compliance requirements, including the requirement to make a “reasonable inquiry” and to develop a risk-based compliance plan;
  • Discuss best practices and industry approaches to prepare for the August 13 effective date;
  • Provide an update on legislative efforts to delay and amend the prohibition.

Contact: Crowell & Moring Events (events@crowellevents.com)

Crowell & Moring Participant(s):
Adelicia R. Cliffe
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2816
Email: acliffe@crowell.com
Lorraine M. Campos
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2786
Email: lcampos@crowell.com
Alan W. H. Gourley
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2561
Email: agourley@crowell.com
Stephanie L. Crawford
Associate – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2811
Email: scrawford@crowell.com
M. Yuan Zhou
Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2666
Email: yzhou@crowell.com
For more information, please visit these areas: