Background - News & Events (Landing) 2016

Search NewsRoom

Advanced Search >

Media Contacts +


Senators Announce Formation of Whistleblower Protection Caucus

February 26, 2015

Co-Authors: Robert Rhoad and Jason M. Crawford.

On February 25, 2015, Senator Charles Grassley (R-IA) announced the official formation of the Senate Whistleblower Protection Caucus.  According to the press release, the caucus will “foster bipartisan discussion on legislative issues affecting the treatment of whistleblowers and serve as a clearinghouse for current information on whistleblower developments of interest in the Senate.”  The caucus will also provide training to Senate staff on how to respond to whistleblower disclosures and retaliation claims.

The Senate’s leading proponent of whistleblower protection, Grassley will serve as chairman of the caucus. The other founding members of the caucus are Ron Wyden (D-OR) (vice-chairman), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Deb Fischer (R-NE) Thom Tillis (R-NC), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Ed Markey (D-MA).

Grassley previewed the formation of the caucus during an April 10, 2014 speech commemorating the 25th Anniversary of the Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989 – legislation which Grassley co-authored.  In his speech, Grassley said he was creating the caucus to bring together like-minded Senators who could shine a light on the need for increased whistleblower protections.  Grassley stated that the goal of the Whistleblower Protection Caucus was to ensure “vigilant oversight” over whistleblower protection laws.

Jason M. Crawford
Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2562