Background - News & Events (Landing) 2016
Events
View Webinar

Emerging Issues in Sanctions, AML and Everything in Between in the Time of COVID-19: 2020 AML & Sanctions Risk Considerations for Digital Assets Companies

May 19, 2020 • Webinar

Starts: 9:30 AM (EDT)
Ends: 10:30 AM (EDT)

For Crowell & Moring LLP’s next event in our series, Emerging Issues in Sanctions, AML, and Everything in Between in the Time of COVID-19, our Global Head of Blockchain & Digital Assets, Michelle Gitlitz, will moderate a discussion on the AML & Sanctions risks that digital assets companies are currently grappling with.

Join us from the comfort of your home office (couch, bed, bathroom—we see you working parents), to hear our AML & Sanctions pros discuss the following pressing topics:

How Do AML and Sanctions Laws Apply to Digital Assets? What are the Key Regulatory Risks?
  • What kinds of digital assets businesses are subject to AML regulation?
  • What kind of AML obligations do regulated entities have?
  • How do sanctions apply to digital assets transactions, assets, and wallets?
  • What sanctions obligations do digital assets businesses have?
Potential Areas for AML and Sanctions Enforcement for Digital Assets in 2020
  • Unregistered money transmitter
  • Inadequate AML programs and failure to file SARs
  • The Funds Transfer and Travel Rules
  • OFAC’s interest in digital assets companies 
  • Expert advice on virtual currency to sanctioned parties 
The potential Impact of COVID-19
  • Is there an increase in the use of cryptocurrency by sanctioned persons, money launderers and fraudsters during COVID-19?

Contact: Crowell & Moring Events (events@crowellevents.com)

Crowell & Moring Participant(s):
Michelle Ann Gitlitz
Partner – New York
Phone: +1 212.895.4334
Email: mgitlitz@crowell.com
Carlton Greene
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2818
Email: cgreene@crowell.com
Caroline E. Brown
Partner – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2509
Email: cbrown@crowell.com
David (Dj) Wolff
Partner; Attorney at Law – Washington, D.C., London
Phone: +1 202.624.2548, +44.20.7413.1368
Email: djwolff@crowell.com
Erik Woodhouse
Counsel – Washington, D.C.
Phone: +1 202.624.2554
Email: ewoodhouse@crowell.com
Michelle J. Linderman
Partner – London
Phone: +44.20.7413.1353
Email: mlinderman@crowell.com
Nicole Sayegh Succar
Counsel – New York
Phone: +1 (212) 803-4031
Email: nsuccar@crowell.com